Search | Statistics | User Listing | Member Roster | Coach DB Forums | Albums
FMC Owner's Forum
Home -> FMC Owner's Forum ->  General Discussion -> Discussion -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

FMC Chassis
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> DiscussionMessage format

Duramaxer
Posted 2009-12-14 4:40 PM (#862)
Subject: FMC Chassis

(84.49.209.102)

Dear friends

This is a posting that I felt like making as a response to the threads over at the yahoo group regarding sheer plating of the FMC Motorcoach. I rather post it here because I can use pictures on this forum.

I am no engineer, just a mechanic so all my work is based on the principle of repairing and improving as I go. What I’m writing here is not based on calculations and I can not prove any of it. But I have spent enough time cutting welding and grinding on #477 to have had time to think of the design, strengths, weaknesses and potential improvements on the 2900R structure. I hate to repair things more than once so I seldom repair anything without having a clue about the cause of why thing need to be repaired or modified.
My realty was the simple fact that I had a coach with rust damage and a sagging rear. And I believe they all do to some degree until proven wrong. I could have gone by the “easy” approach of just flicking on the rusted steel and adding sheer plates to the sides. I could have made that fix in a month. I have sheer plated my coach and I am glad I did. But sheer plating is just one piece to the puzzle.

The coach platform is different to most rv’s as we all know.  I have read some thoughts on the design but I do not think I have seen any explanation that I fully believe in yet. No one forgot to put a frame in to the design!