Search | Statistics | User Listing | Member Roster | Coach DB Forums | Albums
FMC Owner's Forum
Home -> FMC Owner's Forum ->  General Discussion -> Discussion -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Norcold fridge
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> DiscussionMessage format
 
B. Sitton
Posted 2019-08-07 8:52 AM (#6676)
Subject: Norcold fridge


Location: Ignacio Colorado
(174.45.38.44)
On the road and find the fridge, original norcold electric, isn’t running on 12 volt DC. It does however work fine on 120 volt AC. Ready to check the books and realize I am toting my transit manuals not my coach manuals. Now that I’m posting my problem I remember Kijetl has them on his website. Time to trace out the 12volt supply.
Bill
Top of the page Bottom of the page
B. Sitton
Posted 2019-08-07 9:07 AM (#6677 - in reply to #6676)
Subject: Re: Norcold fridge


Location: Ignacio Colorado
(174.45.38.44)
That didn’t go well. Group 37 says go to group 39 and group 39 says go to group 37. It shows in the 120 volt diagram but not the 12 volt. Hmm.
Bill
Top of the page Bottom of the page
B. Sitton
Posted 2019-08-07 9:24 AM (#6679 - in reply to #6677)
Subject: Re: Norcold fridge


Location: Ignacio Colorado
(174.45.38.44)
Thanks Stephen for the picture album of your 12v fridge supply problem. Happened to remember you went through this too. The fuse holder at the batterys looks melted and is a mass of electrical tape. Bet it is my problem. Will update when I get it apart.
Bill
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Duramaxer
Posted 2019-08-07 9:28 AM (#6680 - in reply to #6676)
Subject: Re: Norcold fridge



Location: Oslo Norway
(84.213.60.255)

Having some trouble editing this post in Safari

 Service Manual;

 https://www.manualslib.com/manual/911571/Norcold-Non-Tek-Ii-De-828.html#manual

 Kjetil



Edited by Duramaxer 2019-08-07 9:42 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
B. Sitton
Posted 2019-08-07 9:37 AM (#6681 - in reply to #6680)
Subject: Re: Norcold fridge


Location: Ignacio Colorado
(174.45.38.44)
Yes and thanks, I found the problem. A new fuse holder and connection to battery should fix it. I bypassed it and it powered up.
Bill
Top of the page Bottom of the page
andy1canada
Posted 2019-08-07 9:48 AM (#6682 - in reply to #6676)
Subject: Re: Norcold fridge


Location: Victoria, BC. Canada
(108.172.101.233)
Wish I could help but this is out of my jurisdiction.
Last resort you could fire up the genny and run with 120 to keep the fridge going I suppose.

Is the genset working?

Terry
#846
Top of the page Bottom of the page
dkarnath
Posted 2019-08-07 9:57 AM (#6683 - in reply to #6682)
Subject: Re: Norcold fridge



Location: Medford, OR
(204.10.247.1)
I had the same problem with mine in the beginning, found the 12v fuse itself wasn't conducting through it, and it wasn't blown, replaced the fuse and been in business ever since.

Edited by dkarnath 2019-08-07 9:58 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
B. Sitton
Posted 2019-08-08 11:31 AM (#6687 - in reply to #6683)
Subject: Re: Norcold fridge


Location: Ignacio Colorado
(174.45.38.44)
My fuse looks good too but no power passing through. Glass fuses can get hot and melt the solder between the fuse element and the end cap. Looks good but not so. I will Replace the holder as it was taped together. I will use an ATO plastic two flat blade contact fuse as a replacement because this can’t happen with them.
Bill
Top of the page Bottom of the page
B. Sitton
Posted 2019-08-08 7:33 PM (#6692 - in reply to #6676)
Subject: Re: Norcold fridge


Location: Ignacio Colorado
(174.45.38.44)
New fuse holder installed and fridge is purring like a happy cat running on the battery again. $15 fridge fix. Back on the road tomorrow.
Bill
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

Go to FMCowners.com HomeRunning MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2019 PD9 Software
(Delete all cookies set by this site)