Search | Statistics | User Listing | Member Roster | Coach DB Forums | Albums
FMC Owner's Forum
Home -> FMC Owner's Forum ->  General Discussion -> Mechanic's Corner -> View Thread

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Ignition Relay: No start.
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Mechanic's CornerMessage format

andy1canada
Posted 2016-01-19 8:34 PM (#3302)
Subject: Ignition Relay: No start.

Elite Veteran

Howdy,

On the pretext that this might actually help someone someday if they have the same no-start issue I just suffered on the weekend far from home in middle of nowhere, I'm going to post what I've learned about ignition troubleshooting from our wonderful Club Prez - aka: Billy Sitton - and the mobile mechanic who got out of bed early on a Sunday morning to help get me going.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a mechanic and make no claims or guarantees that the methods described herein are the best, correct, or, only way to resolve this issue; it's simply an account of what happened to me and what I did to fix it.

I've also got a few pics and a link to the company that makes the inexpensive relay I chose for the replacement. Whether the pics make it to the screen here is, at this juncture, sketchy at best as I've not tried it before.

After we did the spark-plug test to confirm 'no-spark' I decided to call Billy to see if I could fluke catching him near the phone. He answered right away but gave me an earful for interrupting his dish-washing session.

Here's what he advised to do as best as I can remember:

- with the key 'ON' he told me to check for power at any terminal on the ballast resistor. There was NONE.
- this, he said, pointed to the 'ignition relay' which is next up the line towards the key switch. It is located on the pass-side firewall in the engine room to the left of the battery- isolator, just below the 3-glass fuses.